top of page

Sounds of NYC: Meet Leo the Doorman



LEO SENGHOR-LEOPOLD: Everything that I like about being a doorman because I'm a people person. I enjoy talking with people, I enjoy, you know, acting with people and interacting with them. So that gives me...because of the person I am, that makes me feel good doing this.


SARAH YOKUBAITIS, BYLINE: Leo Senghor-Leopold…Upper West Side doorman for over twenty years.


SENGHOR-LEOPOLD: We had a few tenants here that were very rude. With me, I don't take that seriously. Even no matter how rude you are, I will still talk to you and explain to you that you know, whatever is happening is not our fault. We are here to help you in the best way we can.


YOKUBAITIS: You’re listening to Uptown Radio from Columbia Radio News, Thursdays at 4 PM.


Upper West Side Building, Credit: Sarah Yokubaitis

bottom of page